Time Blocking: Throw out your to-do list!

What is it?

It’s magic! Time Blocking is a way to breakdown your day into blocks of time (just like it sounds!). Each “block” is dedicated to a different set of tasks. This allows you to throw out your mile long to-do list and start your day with a schedule of exactly what needs to be done and when. During each block, you can forget about all the other little things and focus on just what you need to do during that block.

How will it work for you?

Do you work full time? Are you a stay-at-home mom? Are you a student? This method can work for ANYONE! You can break up your time blocks in any way that works for you, and tackle the tasks that matter most to you. Using the alarm app on your phone can also help you know when to switch between blocks. Bonus: it also allows you to block in time to relax! All you need is a way to write/type out your schedule and a few minutes to plan your day. (And I got one of those covered for you at the end of this post!)

How to set it up

Here is an example of one way you could use this method. Basically, you want to break your day down into manageable time chunks, 2 or 3 hours at a time. If you work full time, your day may look a little like mine. If you are at home most of the day, you might swap out one of my blocks for an “Errands” block or a “Housework” block.

You can make your own with this editable version that you can download for FREE! Just click the black “Download” button here!

I like to sit down on a Saturday or Sunday when I get a few minutes and work out my schedules for every day of the upcoming week. They stay mostly the same, but I can easily add in tasks or take some out. I also like to set timers for the ends of each block so I know to switch to my next block.

My favorite part about this kind of schedule is that if I finish my tasks for that block before the block is over, I can just chill out! I can scroll through Instagram or go play with my dog Mabel! And if you can’t quite finish all your tasks in the time of one block, you can always find ways to squeeze them into another block. Just keep that in mind and adjust your blocks accordingly next time that task comes around.

If this sounds like something that could change how you do to-do’s, let me know! Comment below or come on over to @pinetreesandpaperclips on Instagram and show me how you block out your time! I’m so excited to see the unique schedules and methods you all use!

2 thoughts on “Time Blocking: Throw out your to-do list!

Add yours

  1. How do I edit the file once I download it? Adobe Acrobat wants to charge me to edit but I wasn’t sure if you knew of a better or easier way!

    Like

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started